Tags

,

It’s time to fess up to what I ate all winter: burritos. Lots of burritos. Oh, and quesadillas too, if that counts as different. I’d make the beans at the beginning of the week and live on them until Friday.

IMG_2222

While I do think my burrito beans are delicious, I was never inspired to post about them–one of the reasons for my long silence. And I’m still not going to post about them, because… meh. Instead I’ll tell you about a recent upgrade I made to my burritos: homemade whole wheat tortillas.

IMG_2229

If you’re looking for authenticity, these tortillas aren’t it. No lard and no leavening makes them much easier than the traditional version. They’re Tex-Mex all the way: thick and chewy. I guess the whole wheat part isn’t just like home: that’s just like Shevaun. Anyway, I couldn’t believe how easy they were, and I’m never buying tortillas again. You shouldn’t either.

Whole Wheat Tortillas

Adapted from Homesick Texan

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or use more all-purpose)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3/4 cup milk

1. Mix together the flours, baking powder, salt, and oil.

2. Gradually add the milk, stirring until the dough forms a loose sticky ball.

3. Knead the dough on a smooth floured surface for 2 minutes or so.

4. Allow the dough to rest for 20 minutes in a bowl covered with platic wrap or a damp towel.

5. Separate the dough ball into 8 smaller balls. Place on a plate and cover with plastic wrap or a damp towel. Allow to rest for 10 minutes.

6. Press each ball into a 4-inch round, then roll out into a thin 8-inch circle.

7. Cook each tortilla for about 30 seconds per side in a dry heavy skillet over high heat. Tortillas should puff and bubble a bit.

IMG_2219

