Tags

,

It was my birthday last Friday. Since I haven’t known anyone here for more than a month, nobody knew that.

On the one hand, I am morally opposed to the tactic of oh-so-casually mentioning my birthday for a few weeks beforehand, in the hopes that someone will spontaneously make me a cake. On the other hand, I do not compromise on birthday baked goods.

Solution: beer, TV, and cupcakes until 2am on Thursday night.

I used this recipe from Smitten Kitchen. Mine weren’t nearly as beautiful (I couldn’t find food coloring at the grocery store), but they were darn tasty.

I was very upset when I got home from the store with mini cupcake papers instead of the regular size… but it turned out well, I think. No one was left pathetically picking crumbs off paper cups. (Not that I would ever do that.)

I iced about 2 dozen of them before realizing that I had no way to bring 3 dozen gooey cupcakes on the metro to school. I decided a self-serve icing strategy would be best for the remaining dozen.

It may be socially awkward to bake your own birthday cupcakes… but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. And I didn’t hear anyone complaining.

Postscript: My birthday loot included a food processor and a book about food photography. So everyone can look forward to better pictures of chopped-up stuff. Hurray!

